Current Composition

The Tribunal is composed of seven judges, all of whom are nationals of different Member States of the Bank. The judges are not members of Bank Group staff and are appointed for fixed terms. The judges must be persons of “high moral character” and must “possess the qualifications required for appointment to high judicial office or be jurisconsults of recognized competence.” They are appointed by the Executive Directors of the Bank from a list of candidates drawn up by the President of the Bank after appropriate consultation.



Monica Pinto (Argentina)

Monica Pinto

Monica Pinto is Dean and professor at the University of Buenos Aires Law School, where she teaches international law and international human rights law. She was Director for Human Rights Affairs at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Director of Cooperation and International Affairs at the Ministry of Justice and Human Rights in Argentina. She was appointed as an Independent Expert by the Secretary-General of the United Nations to examine the human rights situation in Guatemala and in Chad. She has appeared before several human rights bodies and tribunals, and before arbitral tribunals as both an attorney and an expert. She is currently a commissioner at the International Commission of Jurists and a member of the Board of Trustees for the Voluntary Fund for Technical Cooperation in Human Rights at the United Nations. She has been visiting professor at Columbia Law School, the University of Paris, the University of Rouen and The Hague Academy of International Law.

Vice President

Andrew Burgess (Barbados)

Andrew Burgess (Barbados)

Andrew Burgess is a Justice of Appeal in the Court of Appeal of Barbados. From 2004 to 2010, he was a judge of the Inter-American Development Bank Administrative Tribunal where he served as Vice President in 2007 and 2009 and President in 2009-2010. Prior to this he served as Dean of the Faculty of Law of the University of the West Indies from 1989-1992 and 1995-2004; as a Senator in the Senate and as a Councillor in the Council of that University; as a Professor of Corporate and Commercial Law; as a member of the Barbados Judicial Council, as a member of the Tax Appeal Tribunal in Barbados, and as Chairman of a number of national and regional committees. He is the author of two books on company law and has published widely on a range of legal issues especially in corporate and commercial jurisprudence.

Mahnoush Arsanjani (Iran)

Mahnoush Arsanjani

Mahnoush H. Arsanjani served in the United Nations Office of Legal Affairs for over 30 years in various positions. She was Director of the Codification Division and Secretary to the United Nations International Law Commission, and also Secretary of the Committee of the Whole of the Rome Conference on the Establishment of the International Criminal Court. She served as a member of the Bahrain Independent Commission of Enquiry, established in June 2011 by the King of Bahrain to investigate and report on events in Bahrain in 2011. She was a member of the Expert Group established by the 2008 Ad Hoc Energy Ministers Meetings Held in Jeddah and London, and also served as a special consultant to the International Energy Forum which drafted the Charter of the International Energy Forum. She was Vice President of the American Society of International Law and is a member of the Board of Editors of the American Journal of International Law. She has published widely and lectured at leading universities and institutions on international law, international tribunals and international institutions.


Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)

Abdul G. Koroma (Sierra Leone)

​Abdul G. Koroma was a member of the International Court of Justice from 1994 until 2012, and the United Nations International Law Commission from 1982 until 1994. He was Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Sierra Leone to the United Nations, the European Economic Community and the Organization of African Unity (OAU), and has had extensive experience as a member of various legal committees in the United Nations, the OAU and the African Union. Since 2006, he has been a member of the Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations of the International Labour Office in Geneva, Switzerland. He is the Chairman of the International Labour Organization (ILO) Mission to Fiji to examine labour disputes between the Government of Fiji and trade unions in light of the applicable ILO Conventions and Recommendations. He is also Chairman of the African Union’s Panel of Experts on the settlement of territorial and boundary disputes between the Republic of Sudan and the Republic of South Sudan.

Marielle Cohen-Branche (France)

Marielle Cohen-Branche (France)

​Marielle Cohen-Branche was judge at the French Cour de Cassation from 2003 to 2012, until her retirement. She served as a member of The World Bank’s Sanctions Board from 2007 to 2012. She was a member of the Sanctions Commission (2003-2011) and is currently the ombudsman (since 2012) of the French Stock Exchange Regulator. From 1978 to 2002, Ms. Cohen-Branche was a senior executive and legal manager at an international banking institution. Prior to her time in the private sector, she served as General Secretary of CEDIMOM, a non-governmental organization that assists European countries operating in developing nations. For her distinguished national service, Ms. Cohen-Branche was awarded the French Legion d'honneur.

Janice Bellace (United States)

Janice Bellace (United States)

Janice Bellace is a Professor of Legal Studies & Business Ethics and Professor of Management in The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. She was the Director of the Huntsman Program in International Studies and Business at the University of Pennsylvania. She was a member of the Committee of Experts on the Application of Conventions and Recommendations of the International Labor Organization. Active in several professional organizations, she was the President of the Labor and Employment Relations Association and is currently, the President-elect and Treasurer of the International Society for Labour and Social Security Law. She was the President of the International Labor and Employment Relations Association and a former Secretary of the Section on Labor and Employment Law of the American Bar Association.

Executive Secretary

Zakir Hafez (Bangladesh)

Zakir Hafez

Zakir Hafez is the Executive Secretary at the World Bank Administrative Tribunal. Prior to the World Bank, he worked at the law firms of Steptoe & Johnson and White & Case in Washington, DC. He is a member of the New York State and District of Columbia bars. Mr. Hafez completed his doctoral degree, Doctor of Juridical Science (SJD), from the George Washington University Law School in 2003. Prior to that, he obtained Masters of Laws (LL.M.) in International and Comparative Law from the same law school in 2000. Before coming to the United States, he studied law in Norway and Malaysia, after finishing high school in Bangladesh. He has published a number of books and articles.

Useful information for applicants and potential applicants about the Tribunal and its procedures.

View the FAQ

Applications filed with the Tribunal must comply with the requirements of Rule 7 and Annex 1 of the Tribunal's Rules. Applicants may use the form below to complete and submit their applications.

Guide to Completing the Application Form
Application Form

1800 G Street, NW 
Mail Stop U 11-1101 
Washington, DC 20006 

TEL: (202) 458-0271 
FAX: (202) 522-3581 

Staff based in country offices may reverse the telephone charges, or may provide a number where they may be reached.