Reappointment of Judges Paulsson and Feliciano as Members of the Tribunal

Pursuant to Article IV of the Statute of the Tribunal, the Executive Directors of the Bank have reappointed Judges Jan Paulsson and Florentino P. Feliciano as members of the World Bank Administrative Tribunal for another five-year term expiring on September 30, 2013, following the expiry of their previous terms.

In accordance with Article IV(2) of the Statute of the Tribunal and a memorandum dated June 4, 2001 from the President of the Bank to the Executive Directors on the topic of “Enhancing the Bank’s Administrative Tribunal,” the President of the Bank appointed an Advisory Committee to recommend to him a list of candidates for nomination. The Advisory Committee is composed of the Senior Vice-President and General Counsel of the Bank as Chair; a member of staff selected by the Bank Group Staff Association; and two other members selected by the President of the Bank, one of whom shall be a member of staff and the other an outside expert. As part of its work, the Committee sought the views of internal stakeholders and external sources, and also solicited from them the names of potential candidates. Having reviewed the curricula vitae of all the candidates whose names it received, the Committee submitted to the President of the Bank a report on its work outlining its findings and recommendations. On the basis of the Committee’s work, the President of the Bank nominated Judges Paulsson and Feliciano, both of whom were reappointed by the Executive Directors of the Bank.

Judge Paulsson is currently the President of the Tribunal. He is the President of the London Court of International Arbitration. He is the head of the international arbitration and public international law groups of the law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. He is a Visiting Professor at the London School of Economics and Political Science, and he holds the Michael Klein Distinguished Scholar Chair at the University of Miami School of Law. He has presided over arbitral tribunals constituted under the auspices of the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID) and he has been either counsel or arbitrator in more than 500 international arbitration proceedings.

Judge Feliciano is a former Senior Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines. He is also a former Chairman and Member of the Appellate Body of the World Trade Organization (WTO) in Geneva. He is currently the President of the Asian Development Bank Administrative Tribunal, a member of the ICC International Court of Arbitration in Paris, a member of the Curatorium of the Hague Academy of International Law, and a member of the Institut de Droit International. He is also Senior Counsel at SyCip Salazar Hernandez and Gatmaitan, Makati City, Philippines.

Current composition of the Tribunal

Useful information for applicants and potential applicants about the Tribunal and its procedures.

View the FAQ

Applications filed with the Tribunal must comply with the requirements of Rule 7 and Annex 1 of the Tribunal's Rules. Applicants may use the form below to complete and submit their applications.

Guide to Completing the Application Form
Application Form

1800 G Street, NW 
Mail Stop U 11-1101 
Washington, DC 20006 

TEL: (202) 458-0271 
FAX: (202) 522-3581 

Staff based in country offices may reverse the telephone charges, or may provide a number where they may be reached.